Category Archives: Accident Litigation

SCHOOL ZONE LAW FOR BACK TO SCHOOL DRIVING

TOP 10 SCHOOL ZONE RULES TO KNOW FOR BACK TO SCHOOL 

  1. OBEY THE CROSSING GUARD – Not stopping for a crossing guard while driving in Nevada is a misdemeanor and if you have a collision with a car or a pedestrian by not stopping for a crossing guard, you can be subject to penalties including fines and possible loss of your license.

2) NEVER PASS A STOPPED SCHOOL BUS WHILE TH E SIGNS ARE OUT- It is extremely important to stop for a school bus with signs out when driving on the same side of the road as the bus or on a non-divided road, meaning there is not median in the roadway separating the lanes.  

3) BUS DRIVERS ARE ALLOWED TO REPORT VIOLATORS – and they will.  If a bus driver obtains your information for passing the bus illegally, he or she can report you and the school district can send you a warning.  It is important to note that the penalties increase based upon the number of offenses you commit.

4) MAXIMUM SPEED OF A SCHOOL BUS – Be Patient for school buses on our roads.  They are charged to keep our most precious cargo safe and are not permitted to drive in excess of 55 mph.  

5) SCHOOL ZONE SPEED RULES – The speed in a school zone is 15 miles per hour when school is in session.  Session means days children are in school from a half hour before school starts and a half hour after school gets out.  

6) During days school is in session but is it outside the half hour windows of starting and ending or lights are not flashing to indicate otherwise, the speed limit is 25 miles per hour.    

7)  U-turns are not permitted in school zones while school is in session.

8)  No passing in a school Zone.

9) Always use extreme caution in a school zone and never be distracted by cell phone or radio. Put our children’s safety first.

It’s that time of year, Kids are back in school, school zone lights are flashing, and the police are out enforcing the law in school zones. However, sometimes drivers don’t always recognize the law in a school zone. Flashing lights and speed limit signs are self-explanatory. But some regulations are a little bit more obscure.  A brief review of these rules can help drivers in Henderson and drivers in Las Vegas stay safe and free from penalties and keep our kids safe.

Take time to watch for the kid walking and riding bikes to  school. The school zone is an area on the street near a school, in front of the school, and area where children will be crossing to go to the school, a crosswalk leading to the school, or any place where children are likely to be walking to school and signs are posted. School zones extend beyond the perimeter of the school itself in many areas. It is important to watch for school zone signs.  Sometimes there will not be lights flashing but rather only a sign posted. Sometimes there may not be crossing guards in the area so it is important to watch for all markers that indicate a school zone.   

Fines for speeding in school zones can be double and sometimes even higher in some places.  Often times the laws and penalties regarding school zone driving rules can be confusing. I have listed the applicable statutes below and will summarize these rules.   

The following are the statutes in Nevada which govern traveling in a school zone:

OBEY THE CROSSING GUARD – Not stopping for a crossing guard while driving in Nevada is a misdemeanor and if you have a collision with a car or a pedestrian by not stopping for a crossing guard, you can be subject to penalties including fines and possible loss of your license.

NRS 484B.350  Stop required in obedience to direction or traffic-control signal of school crossing guard; penalty; additional penalty if driver is proximate cause of collision with pedestrian or person riding bicycle.

       1.  The driver of a vehicle:

       (a) Shall stop in obedience to the direction or traffic-control signal of a school crossing guard; and

       (b) Shall not proceed until the highway is clear of all persons, including, without limitation, the school crossing guard.

      2.  A person who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a misdemeanor.

      3.  If, while violating subsection 1, the driver of a motor vehicle is the proximate cause of a collision with a pedestrian or a person riding a bicycle, the driver is subject to the additional penalty set forth in subsection 4 of NRS 484B.653.

4.  As used in this section, “school crossing guard” means a volunteer or paid employee of a local authority, local law enforcement agency or school district whose duties include assisting pupils to cross a highway.

NEVER PASS A STOPPED SCHOOL BUS WHILE TH E SIGNS ARE OUT- It is extremely important to stop for a school bus with signs out when driving on the same side of the road as the bus or on a non-divided road, meaning there is not median in the roadway separating the lanes.  

 NRS 484B.353  Overtaking and passing school bus: Duties of driver; exceptions; penalties.

      1.  Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, the driver of any vehicle, when meeting or overtaking, from either direction, any school bus, equipped with signs and signals required by law, which has stopped to receive or discharge any pupil and is displaying a flashing red light signal visible from the front and rear, shall bring the vehicle to an immediate stop and shall not attempt to overtake or proceed past the school bus until the flashing red signal ceases operation.

2.  The driver of a vehicle upon a divided highway need not stop upon meeting or passing a school bus which is positioned in the other roadway. The driver of a vehicle need not stop upon meeting or passing a school bus where traffic is controlled by a traffic officer.

      3.  Any person who violates any of the provisions of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and:

      (a) For a third or any subsequent offense within 2 years after the most recent offense, shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000 and the driver’s license of the person must be suspended for not more than 1 year.

(b) For a second offense within 1 year after the first offense, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $250 nor more than $500 and the driver’s license of the person must be suspended for 6 months.

(c) For a first offense or any subsequent offense for which a punishment is not provided for in paragraph (a) or (b), shall be punished by a fine of not less than $250 nor more than $500.

BUS DRIVERS ARE ALLOWED TO REPORT VIOLATORS – and they will.  If a bus driver obtains you information for passing the bus illegally, he or she can report you and the school district can send you a warning.  It is important to note that the penalties increase based upon the number of offenses you commit.

NRS 484B.357  Report by driver of school bus of failure of driver of vehicle to stop; submission of report to school district and Department; provision of notice to owner of vehicle.

1.  The driver of a school bus who observes a violation of NRS 484B.353 may prepare a report of the violation. The report must be signed by the driver and include:

       (a) The date, time and approximate location of the violation;

       (b) The number and state of issuance of the license plate of the vehicle whose driver committed the violation; and

       (c) An identification of the vehicle by type and color.

       2.  The driver of a school bus who prepares a report pursuant to subsection 1 shall, within 2 working days after the violation, send the report to the superintendent of the school district and a copy to the Department, which shall thereupon mail to the last known registered owner of the vehicle a notice containing:

       (a) The information included in the report;

       (b) The provisions of NRS 484B.353; and

       (c) An explanation that the notice is not a citation but a warning of the seriousness of the violation.

MAXIMUM SPEED OF A SCHOOL BUS – Be Patient for school buses on our roads.  They are charged to keep our most precious cargo safe and are not permitted to drive in excess of 55 mph.  

       NRS 484B.360  Maximum speed of school bus.  A school bus shall not exceed:

       1.  A speed of 55 miles per hour when transporting pupils to and from school; or

2.  The speed limit posted by a public authority for the portion of highway being traversed when  transporting pupils to and from any activity which is properly a part of a school program.

SCHOOL ZONE SPEED RULES – The speed in a school zone is 15 miles per hour when school is in session.  Session means days children are in school from a half hour before school starts and a half hour after school gets out.  During days school is in session but is it outside the half hour widows of starting and ending or lights are not flashing to indicate otherwise, the speed limit is 25 miles per hour.     In addition, U-turns are not permitted in school zones while school is in session.  

NRS 484B.363  School zone or school crossing zone: Speed limit; designation; signs; U-turn and overtaking another vehicle prohibited; determination of hours in which speed limit is in effect; additional penalty if driver is proximate cause of collision with pedestrian or person riding bicycle.

1.  A person shall not drive a motor vehicle at a speed in excess of 15 miles per hour in an area designated as a school zone except:

       (a) On a day on which school is not in session;

       (b) During the period from a half hour after school is no longer in operation to a half hour before school is next in operation;

(c) If the zone is designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the hours when the pupils of the school are in class and the yellow lights of the speed limit beacon are not flashing in the manner which indicates that the speed limit is in effect; or

(d) If the zone is not designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the times when the sign designating the school zone indicates that the speed limit is not in effect.

2.  A person shall not drive a motor vehicle at a speed in excess of 25 miles per hour in an area designated as a school crossing zone except:

       (a) On a day on which school is not in session;

       (b) During the period from a half hour after school is no longer in operation to a half hour before school is next in operation;

(c) If the zone is designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the hours when the pupils of the school are in class and the yellow lights of the speed limit beacon are not flashing in the manner which indicates that the speed limit is in effect; or

(d) If the zone is not designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the times when the sign designating the school zone indicates that the speed limit is not in effect.

3.  The driver of a vehicle shall not make a U-turn in an area designated as a school zone or school crossing zone except:

      (a) When there are no children present;

      (b) On a day on which school is not in session;

      (c) During the period from a half hour after school is no longer in operation to a half hour before school is next in operation;

(d) If the zone is designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the hours when the pupils of the school are in class and the yellow lights of the speed limit beacon are not flashing in the manner which indicates that the speed limit is in effect; or

(e) If the zone is not designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the times when the sign designating the school zone or school crossing zone indicates that the speed limit is not in effect.

4.  The driver of a vehicle shall not overtake and pass another vehicle traveling in the same direction in an area designated as a school zone or school crossing zone except:

       (a) On a day on which the school is not in session;

       (b) During the period from a half hour after school is no longer in operation to a half hour before school is next in operation;

(c) If the zone is designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the hours when the pupils of the school are in class and the yellow lights of the speed limit beacon are not flashing in the manner which indicates that the speed limit is in effect; or

(d) If the zone is not designated by an operational speed limit beacon, during the times when the sign designating the school zone or school crossing zone indicates that the speed limit is not in effect.

5.  The governing body of a local government or the Department of Transportation shall designate school zones and school crossing zones. An area must not be designated as a school zone if imposing a speed limit of 15 miles per hour would be unsafe because of higher speed limits in adjoining areas.

6.  Each such governing body and the Department of Transportation shall provide signs to mark the beginning and end of each school zone and school crossing zone which it respectively designates. Each sign marking the beginning of such a zone must include a designation of the hours when the speed limit is in effect or that the speed limit is in effect when children are present.

7.  With respect to each school zone and school crossing zone in a school district, the superintendent of the school district or his or her designee, in conjunction with the Department of Transportation and the governing body of the local government that designated the school zone or school crossing zone and after consulting with the principal of the school and the agency that is responsible for enforcing the speed limit in the zone, shall determine the times when the speed limit is in effect.

8.  If, while violating any provision of subsections 1 to 4, inclusive, the driver of a motor vehicle is the proximate cause of a collision with a pedestrian or a person riding a bicycle, the driver is subject to the additional penalty set forth in subsection 4 of NRS 484B.653.

9.  As used in this section, “speed limit beacon” means a device which is used in conjunction with a sign and equipped with two or more yellow lights that flash alternately to indicate when the speed limit in a school zone or school crossing zone is in effect.

SCHOOL ZONE SIGNS ARE UNIFORM IN ALL SCHOOL ZONES – School zone signs are generally self-explanatory and are uniform in Nevada.  Watch for these signs an slow your speed at the proper times.  

NRS 484B.367  School zone or school crossing zone: Requirements for signs; placement of portable signs.

1.  Each permanent sign which designates a school zone or school crossing zone and the speed limit in that zone must be uniform in size and color and must clearly designate the hours during which the speed limit applies.

2.  Each portable sign designating a school zone or school crossing zone and the speed limit in the zone must be uniform in size and color. A portable sign may be placed on or beside a roadway only during those hours when pupils are arriving at and leaving regularly scheduled school sessions.

If you have a question about school zone rules or any questions regarding a personal injury, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to.  Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities. They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.   

          At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032. 

DON’T EVER AGREE TO SETTLE YOUR CASE ON THE PHONE

FOLLOW THESE TIPS FOLLOWING AN ACCIDENT

  1. Do not give a recorded statement on the phone
  2. Seek medical attention immediately
  3. Do not settle your case too soon
  4. Keep communication with the insurance company regarding your injury in writing.
  5. It is best to get an attorney.

Although I have blogged about this in the recent past, the number of phone calls we get regarding people who have agreed to a lowball verbal settlement on the phone with an insurance companies compels me to re-address this issue. It is a sad reality that insurance companies will immediately take advantage of an injured person at the first opportunity. They have taken this practice to new levels in recent months.   Here’s how the story normally goes. You get into a car accident and you decide that you want to handle it by yourself. Although that is not generally a good decision, if it is your choice, be cautious. Insurance companies are looking for exactly that injured, unrepresented person to take advantage of by presenting a low ball offer before injuries are even known. 

Usually, the insurance company will call you within 24 to 48 hours of your accident. At that point your injuries have not been established and in fact may not even be known to you.  The insurance company will throw out a very low offer usually under $1000 and ask if they send you a check “do you agree to settle your case and all of your claims for that amount? If you say yes, and they are recording your conversation this agreement can be construed as a legal binding contract for which you may have no additional recourse in the future. Although some contracts have been found that they must be in writing, such as contracts for real estate under the statute of frauds, there is no such general law for verbal settlement agreements.  

This practice of insurance companies taking advantage of unrepresented victims is appalling. However, it is unfortunately becoming widespread and you should protect yourself against such a practice. It is best to obtain counsel immediately following the accident. However, if it is your choice not to seek legal representation, be warned not to speak to the insurance company on the phone. Advise them that all of your correspondence must be written and they can email you. And do not agree to any settlement until you believe that you have fully recovered from your injuries.  Do not settle your claim following an accident too soon. I recommend generally at least three months or longer.

Most people are shocked to learn that if they agree to a settlement on the phone and then see a doctor or realize they have a more severe injury that they are then prevented from making a claim for that additional injury. Insurance companies are savvy and they know the laws, usually better than the injured victim. Don’t let the insurance company make you a victim a second time which is what they are doing in this type of circumstance.  It is extremely important to obtain medical care following an accident and to monitor your physical condition for injuries associated with the accident. The insurance company is preying on resolving cases inexpensively and getting out of paying injured people for the injuries and pain and suffering that they have actually sustained. They are preying upon the lack of knowledge of the person on the phone and the vulnerability of their situation.   In the past, this seemed like an infrequent practice of insurance companies and often by small companies. However, it has recently been brought to our attention that major insurance providers are engaging in this practice on a regular basis. They are knowingly and intentionally taking advantage of injured people, knowing full well that injuries from an automobile accident may not even be known at the time they are attempting to elicit a low settlement.  The other driver’s insurance company is never on your side.  

If you have a question about talking to the insurance company following an accident or any questions regarding a personal injury, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to. Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities.  They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.   

          At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032.

WHAT TO KNOW IF YOU ARE INVOLVED IN A BOATING ACCIDENT

The US Coast Guard’s Recreational Boating Statistics Guide shows that most boating accidents are caused either partially or entirely by the negligence of the boats operator. Most of their reviews found that sadly, most boating accidents could have been avoided if the boat operator had followed proper procedure and been attentive to his driving. In 2015, there were 5.3 deaths per 100,000 registered vessels and 76% were drownings. Sadly, of those 76% of drownings, 85% of the victims were not wearing lifejackets. Based upon review of statistical data the following are the top 10 most common causes for boat accidents:

1) Use of Alcohol

2) Excessive Speed

3) Mechanical Failures

4) Failure to Check for Weather Conditions

5) Rapid Change in Water Conditions

6) Negligence of the Boat Operator

7) Failing to Maintain a Lookout for Other Boats

8) Inexperience of the Boat Operator

9) Violations of Rules Governing Private Vessels on the Waters

10) Failure to Use Proper Safety Gear

Most boating accidents involve one or more of these factors. If you or a loved one has been injured in a boating accident, please contact our office immediately. We can make sure that you or your loved one receives the compensation that you deserve for a personal injury that you sustained in a boating accident in Henderson, Las Vegas or anywhere in  Nevada. 

Use of Alcohol

Just like in a motor vehicle, it is a sad reality that many boat operators use alcohol while they are out on the waters. It is important to note that the same rules of operating a vehicle under the influence apply to a boat operator. Alcohol resulted in the fifth highest number of deadly accidents. In fact, almost as many people died in boating accidents related to alcohol than in most other causes combined. Operating a vehicle on the waters requires a blood alcohol content of less than .08%. If you are enjoying the waters with friends and family make sure that the boat operator is the designated operator and not using alcohol while operating the vessel.  There is no way to call for an Uber on the water.

Excessive Speed 

It is critically important that boat operators operate the vessel at a proper speed to keep their passengers safe. Just like highways, there are actually speed limits in many areas of the lake. Operating a boat too fast has caused collisions or rollovers that have resulted in catastrophic injuries.

Mechanical Failures. 

Although it is not the most common cause of all the accidents it is important for the boat owner to conduct routine safety checks on the boat to make sure it is in good condition. Failures of the motor or other mechanical issues such as steering and controls can be difficult to overcome once out on the open waters.

Always Check Weather Conditions

We have all gotten up to a beautiful morning and by the end of the day it is storming. It is of crucial importance in planning a day on the water to check the hourly forecast. Sadly, many boating accidents and fatalities have occurred due to drastic changes in weather and a capsize of the boat. Even if you are going with friends, take it  upon yourself to check your smart phone for the hourly daily forecast so that you can prevent any type of catastrophic weather accident.

Rapid Change in Water Conditions

Often the passing of another boat can cause serious wakes and changes in the water conditions.  Always be mindful of other vessels on the water and their proximity to your boat as well as the size of your boat. It is best to avoid the vicinity of larger vessels on the water if possible.

Negligence of the Boat Operator

It is important that the operator of the boat be skilled in boat operation. Many people purchase boats and fail to take any class or review any manuals. To get a driver’s license it is required  by law to take a written test and a driving test so that drivers have a basic level of skill on the road. Unfortunately, this is not the case with owning a boat in most states. Therefore, the ability and skill of the operator varies widely. Make sure that the operator of the boat that you are on is skilled in the operation of the vessel.

Failure to Maintain Lookout

It may be surprising for you to learn that a large number of boating accidents happen as a result of collisions with other boats. It is critical that all passengers assist the operator to watch for other vessels and avoid collisions with other vessels. Often, boats cannot make last-minute maneuvers like cars so it is important to keep a lookout at a distance to make sure that you are not getting too close to other vessels on the water.  Unlike the roads, boating vessels can be traveling in any direction, anywhere on the water. 

Inexperience of The Boat Operator

Often times during a day at the lake, multiple people will drive the boat. I do remember being a kid and my grandma letting me drive the boat.  It was such a thrill. Fortunately, she was with me and taught me many valuable skills such as the ones listed above in operating a boat. It is fun to take turns driving the boat. It is important to always supervise and make sure that an experienced operator is present and teaching any inexperienced operators the ins and outs of operating the vessel on the water.   It is an important statistic that only 15% percent of deaths occurred on vessels where the operator had received a nationally-approved boating safety education certificate. 

Violation of Boating Rules

It should not be surprising that there are rules and regulations on the waterways just as there are rules and regulations on the roadways.  Boating accidents are governed by federal, state and local laws. There are also laws for BUI, or boating under the influence rules. http://www.ndow.org/boat/boating_safety/pfds/  

Failure to Use Proper Safety Equipment

As stated above, there are numerous rules regarding safety equipment for boaters. Failure to use this results in injuries and fatalities every year. Make sure that everyone is wearing a life vest not just children.  At the Law Offices of Law Hunt, we urge all boaters to wear life jackets and protect children by ensuring they are wearing properly fitting life jackets at all time. All children under 13 years of age are required to wear lifejackets while boating in Nevada.  For additional information on boating safety, visit http://www.ndow.org/Boat/Boating_Safety/ Owners of recreational watercraft must be sure their boat carries the mandatory safety equipment and is compatible with state and federal laws. As part of this compliance, boats must be registered, they must meet certain equipment requirements including having lifejackets, visual distress signals, fire extinguishers, proper ventilation, back fire flame controls, sound producing devices, and navigation lights. They must also follow operating procedures including following navigation laws, and all state and federal laws.  Sadly, in 2015 twenty children lost their lives in boating accidents who were not wearing life jackets. http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-488.html#NRS488Sec193  

In 2015, the United States Coast Guard counted 4,158 boat accidents that involved 626 deaths, 2,613 injuries and approximately $42 million dollars of damage to property as a result of recreational boating accidents   https://www.uscgboating.org/library/accident-statistics/Recreational-Boating-Statistics-2015.pdf    

Unfortunately, Nevada has a high rate of boating accidents. Lake Mead is an extremely popular recreation area.  Its natural beauty and warm climate make it an inviting destination to enjoy boating activities. With an average of 10 million visitors annually, this is the busiest national recreation area in the country, centering on the nation’s largest manmade lake.  It also leads the national park system in fatalities. In 2015 it was reported that Nevada was ranked in the top states for boating accidents with most of those accidents happening at Lake Mead.

If you have a question about boating accident injury and/or any questions regarding a personal injury, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to. Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities.  They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.   

          At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032. 

Boating Injury Statics:

  • The fatality rate was 5.3 deaths per 100,000 registered recreational vessels in 2015.
  • This rate represents a 1.9% increase from 2014’s fatality rate of 5.2

deaths per 100,000 registered recreational vessels

  • Compared to 2014, the number of accidents increased 2.3%,  the number of

                          deaths increased 2.6%, and the number of injuries decreased 2.4%.

  • Where cause of death was known, 76% of fatal boating accident victims drowned. 
  • Of those drowning victims, 85% were not wearing a life jacket.

  • Eight out of every ten boaters who drowned were using vessels less than 21 feet in length.
  • Alcohol use is the leading known contributing factor in fatal boating accidents; where the primary cause was known, it was listed as the leading factor in 17% of deaths.
  • Where data was known, the vessel types with the highest percentage of deaths were open motorboats (46%), kayaks (12%), and canoes (11%).

  • Twenty-two children under age thirteen lost their lives while boating in 2015. Twelve children (55%) died from drowning. Two children (17%) of those who drowned were wearing a life jacket; half of the remaining ten children who were not wearing a life jacket were not required to do so under State law

WHAT DO I DO IF I AM INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT IN MY RENTAL CAR WHILE ON VACATION

What to do following an accident with a rental car vehicle

If you find yourself at the scene of a car accident involving a rental car vehicle, you should take the following steps immediately afterwards to protect your rights. 

1) Take photos of the vehicles, the scene of the accident, the adverse driver’s license and the rental car contract.

2) It is very important to call the police.  They will document and take down all necessary information.

3) Get medical attention right away.

4) Contact your own insurance company right away to   

            advise them of the claim

In most cases involving an accident with a rental car, liability will still lie with the person driving the vehicle involved in the accident. There are a few instances where the rental car company may be liable but generally only if something was wrong with the vehicle. If you’ve been injured in a car accident that involved a rental car, you may have questions regarding who you can recover your damages from.  At the personal injury law offices of Laura Payne-Hunt, Esq. we can answer any of your questions. Please do not hesitate to call our office if your or a loved one has been in an accident. A specific question you may have may be regarding the rental car company’s liability for the accident. You may also be wondering which insurance company, whether the rental company or the drivers insurance company, is liable. 

In general, you cannot make a claim against the rental car company after an accident. Liability for rental car accidents works the same as it does for car accidents involving independent drivers. This means that if the person driving the rental car is found to be at fault, then that person will be liable for the damages that ensue from the accident. This includes damages for medical bills, pain and suffering, lost time from work, for anyone injured in the accident as well as the cost to repair or replace the vehicles. If you are the person that caused the accident, this means that your personal insurance that you carry on your vehicle at home that you usually drive will step in and cover the accident. 

 Conversely if you are hit by someone driving a rental car, their personal insurance on their vehicle from home will cover your damages.  When an accident involves a rental vehicle there are a number of different types of insurance coverage that could come into effect. They include the following:

  1. This first is usually the at fault driver‘s personal insurance which will extend to the accident involving the rental car.
  2.  In addition, insurance sold by the rental car company may also provide liability coverage, minimal though it may be. 
  3. And in addition to that, if the rental car is paid for by credit card, the credit card company often offers collision coverage which will cover damage to the vehicle, but not medical losses. 
  4. And finally, if the responsible party does not have any personal insurance coverage or through the rental car Company, you may have to resort to using your own uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage to cover the damages from the accident.

Instances where the rental car company be liable. 

Although most car accidents involving rental cars will come down to the drivers personal auto liability insurance, there are some exceptions where the rental company may be liable. One example is that you may be able to sue the rental car company if the accident was actually caused by or made worse by a dangerous vehicle defect that  the Rent-A-Car company knew about and did not fix or should have known about and rented the vehicle. In other words, the rental company’s negligence in maintaining or repairing the vehicle can be a basis for liability. However, you will need to establish the factual causation between the car and the accident. If a blowout in the tire or some mechanical malfunction contributed to the accident, be sure to take pictures of the scene as well as document what happened with the vehicle.  Another instance may be that the rental car company was negligent in renting out the vehicle. For example, they fail to verify driver’s license information or rented a vehicle to a driver who actually had a revoked license for DUIs. There is a possibility the rental car company could be on the hook in such a situation.

In actuality, since renting cars is not something people do frequently, there is often a greater risk of accidents in rental cars because drivers are unfamiliar with the vehicle or the area in which they are driving. If you are involved in an accident with a rented vehicle, the personal injury claim is generally not affected by the fact that a rental vehicle was involved.  Following an accident with the rental vehicle you should follow the same steps generally followed after an accident; 1) take photos of the vehicles, the scene of the accident, the adverse driver’s license and the rental car contract; 2) it is very important to call the police as they will document and take down all necessary information; 3) get medical attention right away

What is a collision damage waiver?

This is a term that you are also often confronted with at the rental car desk. The rental car company will ask you if you want to purchase their insurance or sign the collision damage waiver. What this means is that the collision damage waiver only applies to damage that is done to the rental car and shifts the cost of repairing or replacing the vehicle to you if you waive this coverage. If you accept this coverage, it shifts the  burden onto the rental car company. Your own private insurance will cover the damages to the rental car; however, you may be liable for your deductible if the damage to the car is your fault. In addition, if the damage is your fault, it will be a claim on your personal insurance and could raise your insurance rates. The collision coverage does not apply to all injuries to another driver or passenger if you cause an accident.  

https://money.usnews.com/money/personal-finance/spending/articles/your-guide-to-purchasing-rental-car-insurance

NON COLLISION EVENT

The question may also arise when you are in a rental car what happens if the car is damaged in some non-collision event.  Usually meaning what if the car is damaged by a theft while you are renting the car or some type of weather related damage to the car.  This will work the same as your private vehicle. If you purchased the rental car insurance on the vehicle, the rental car insurance that you purchased will cover any physical damage to the vehicle that you rented. If you did not purchase the extended coverage offered by the rental car company and the car is damaged or stolen while in your possession, your private insurance again will cover the damage to the vehicle. However, you will be liable for the deductible on your policy which you will be required to pay to the rental car company when the car is returned. It is often a good idea to spend the extra money to get the coverage on the car to avoid future headaches. Although your private insurance will cover you on the rental car, deductibles and paperwork may not be worth the headache. This is a financial decision that is entirely up to you. Generally, we highly recommend that if you are renting a car for a very short period of time it is truly worth purchasing the rental car companies insurance for the peace of mind that you could turn the car in with any dent, ding, or scratch on it and not be liable for the damage.  When you are on vacation, the last thing you need to worry about is a door ding on a vehicle or someone backing into the car in a parking lot. Although your private insurance will handle it, you will be responsible for paying that deductible when the car is turned in and a headache on your vacation that could have been avoided for $50.00.

If you have a question about an accident in a rental car or any questions regarding a personal injury, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to. Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities.  They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.   

          At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032.

LEGAL LIABILITY OF FOR POOL ACCIDENTS

Top Reasons Liability Can be Found Against a Pool Owner

  1. A Public Pool owner  Fails to maintain proper safety equipment;
  2. A Public Pool Owner Fail to have adequate lifeguards;
  3. A Private Pool Owner invites and fails to supervise children;
  4. A Private Pool Owner fails to warn of any Malfunctioning equipment;

Sadly in the United States, statistics show that nine people are United States drowned. Another harsh reality is that drowning is the second leading accidental injury related death for children ages 1 to 14 years of age. For each child lost, there are up to four nonfatal pool accidents that result in serious injuries to the victims requiring hospitalization and often resulting in paralysis and brain damage. In most of these personal injury situations, the drowning of a child results when he or she was being not being supervised in the pool

The question often arises who is liable for these tragic accidents. Liability for a swimming pool accident is very state specific. Meaning that liability in each state will vary depending on the premises liability laws of the state. Pool owner, including private pool owners in residential areas and owners of pools in a public setting such as a municipality or a hotel can be held liable when a swimmer is injured. This liability stems from the general rules of premises liability in the state where the pool is located.  There are also federal regulations in place to keep public pools safe and insure that the appropriate safety equipment is installed.

Liability of a public pool

Public pool owners can be held liable for failing to provide the proper safety equipment in case of emergency if an invited guest is injured. A public pool owner can also be held liable for equipment that is in disrepair or broken or for the failure to have adequate supervision of lifeguards.  If an accident or injury occurs from broken equipment at a public pool that can be considered negligence per se meaning in the law negligence on its face. In addition to maintaining all equipment in working order, public pools must comply with state and federal regulations. A public pool owner may need to warn of any hidden dangers such as a pool being too shallow for diving. Failure to warn invitees or guests of these hidden dangers can result in liability for a public pool owner

Liability of A private pool Owner

An owner of a private pool must be sure to warn any guests or people at his pool of any dangers that he knows exist.  An example would be a ladder or slide that is not properly secured or is broken. In addition to a private owner’s liability for failure to warn of any hazardous conditions at the pool, a private pool owner can be held liable for injuries to children who are invited to use the pool if they are not adequately supervised or there is not a proper barrier. This is extremely important.  If you are planning to have a party or children over to swim from your neighborhood you are liable for injuries that happen to those children as a result of not supervising them. Therefore, if you plan to have children at your home to swim you must have a qualified person supervising those children at all times or you could be liable for injuries that occur to them from such a lack of supervision. Personal injuries sustained in pool accidents can be serious and even fatal. It is a responsibility that all pool owners must take a seriously. 

Nevada Pool Regulations

The Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Sections 444.010 – 444.546 previously served as the Southern Nevada Health District’s governing document to regulate the operation of public pools. Due to changes to industry the Southern Nevada Health District developed and proposed new regulations based on the CDC’s Model Aquatic Health Code. The new regulations were approved by the Board of Health in April 2018 and approved by the Nevada State Board of Health on June 8, 2018, and go into effect July 1, 2019. 

These regulations encompass swimming pools, bath houses and nudist colonies. This gave me a chuckle in that I did not know we had nudist colonies in Nevada and this article will not discuss the same. Perhaps a future blog post topic.  However, the swimming pool regulations are encompassed in these rules. These rules cover everything including the definition of a public pool, the inspection of public pools, permits required for public pools, the competency of lifeguards on duty and the penalties for a violation of these rules.  According to the statute, a lifeguard on duty at a facility of the state or operated by the state of Nevada or any political subdivision where a recreational swim pool is available, must have satisfactorily completed an advanced lifesaving course offered by the Red Cross or equivalent course. Said lifeguard must be certified and present proof that he has completed such a course and such certifications must be posted at the lifeguards workstations during all business hours. The rules further state that a violation of any of these rules can constitute a misdemeanor. 

Also included in these rules are provisions for disabled persons. Such provision state that a person with the physical disability cannot be prohibited from using a life-saving device in a public swimming pool if the person is using the device in regards to their disability   These rules also give the Southern Nevada Health District permission to supervise the sanitation healthfulness, cleanliness and safety of public swimming pools in Nevada.

Nevada Law Regarding Landlord/ Pool Owner Liability in General

The best way to sum up landlord liability of a pool owner in Nevada is to refer to Supreme Court Case Sargent v. Ross, 308 A2d 528, 534 (1973), where the Nevada Supreme Court stated as follows:

Henceforth landlords and other persons must exercise reasonable care not to subject others to an unreasonable risk of harm.  A landlord must act as a reasonable person under all of the circumstances including the likelihood of injury to others, the probable seriousness of such injuries, and the burden of reducing or avoiding the risk.  We think this basic principle of responsibility for landlords as for others ‘best express the principles of justice and reasonableness upon which our law of torts is founded.’ The questions of control, hidden defects and common or public use, which formerly had to be established as a prerequisite to even considering the negligence of a landlord, will now be relevant only inasmuch as they bear on the basis tort issues such as foreseeability and unreasonableness on the particular risk of harm.  Moody v. Manny’s Auto Repair, 101 Nev. 35, 692 P2d 1290 (1985).

Based on these decisions, a landowner must act “reasonably” under the circumstances.  Obviously, the relationship between a landowner and the injured party will very likely play an important role in determining if the landowner’s conduct or lack thereof, was reasonable.

     The Court Nevada Courts have relied on Section 343A (1) of the Restatement, Second, of Torts which states that, to determine landlord liability.  They have stated that “A possessor of land is not liable to his invitees for physical harm caused to them by any activity or condition on the land whose danger is known or obvious to them, unless the possessor should anticipate the harm despite such knowledge or obviousness.  Comment F. to Section 343(1) of the Restatement, Second, of Torts discusses one possible exception to the general rule. That comment states, “There are cases, however, in which the possessor of land can and should anticipate that the dangerous condition will cause physical harm to the invitee notwithstanding its known or obvious danger.”  A pool is such an example of a dangerous condition that a landowner knows can cause care to guests.

If you have a question about liability for a pool accident and/or any questions regarding a personal injury, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to. Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities.  They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.   

          At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032. 

WHAT EXACTLY IS A SOFT TISSUE INJURY

Four most common types of soft tissue injuries
1) Sprains
2) Contusions
3) Strains
4) Whiplash

One of the most common types of injuries sustained in an auto accident is referred to as a soft tissue injury. A soft tissue injury is considered an injury to a muscle or tendon. The term “ soft“ refers to areas of the body that typically become injured after undergoing some trauma such as an auto accident or other types of personal injury accidents. When a victim is involved in a serious car accident, there is generally some type of soft tissue injury as a result. When you are involved in a car accident, your body is subjected to an extreme amount of trauma. Because of the rapid change in direction that your body undergoes and the force that is absorb by the muscles and tendons, the result is a reaction known as muscle splinting. Many people involved in automobile accidents sustain a soft tissue injury as a result of the accident. One of the most common types of injury is often referred to as whiplash. However, other injuries occur in auto accidents such as sprains, contusions, and strains. Below is the definition of each of these type of injuries.

     Whiplash— The most common occurrence of whiplash is from a forceful rear end   automobile impact. When you are involved in a collision where the vehicle is struck from the rear with great force, your neck and head move forward and back in a violent motion. The most common symptoms that we are hear from clients involved in rear and motor vehicle accidents include stiffness, neck pain, back pain, and in many instances loss of memory and concentration. Sometimes the symptoms are felt immediately following the collision. However, it is important to note that you may not feel pain at the scene of the accident and your symptoms can occur several days or a week after the accident. These type of soft tissue injuries cause pain, soreness, stiffness and swelling and sometimes even bruising. Drivers and passengers of motor vehicles involved in a serious car crashe experience pain from the violent forces involved and being thrown around the vehicle in the collision.


Sprains — a sprain occurs when a ligament is stretched or torn and these are a common injury as a result of automobile collisions. Ligaments are a strong band of connective tissue and they connect one bone to another. Our ligaments stabilize and support the joints in our body. Often the violent forces of an automobile collision cause these to be sprained or torn.

Contusions –The word bruise is the common term for what doctors usually referred to as a contusion. Contusion injuries are often caused by a force, a direct trauma, a blow, or some type of blunt impact causing the underlying muscle fibers to be crushed. A contusion is the result of fibers and connective tissues that are under the skin to break without breaking the skin. However, this type of trauma usually causes discoloration and blood pooling in the affected area which can be seen visually as a light or dark colored bruise often even red and purple in color.

Strains — people often use the term strain and sprain interchangeably but they are different injuries. Strains are injuries to the muscles and tendons of the body. As referenced, tendons are made of fiber chords of tissue and they attach our bones to our muscles. Although strains are similar to sprains, a strain occurs when your tendons are stretched or you tear a tendon or a muscle. Strains can cause cramping, muscle weakness, pain, swelling and spasms sometimes. Although a lot of these terms are used to interchangeably these injuries are different and generally result from trauma, often trauma from car accidents.  

What should you do if you sustain soft tissue injury?

The most important thing to do when you sustain a soft injury is to seek medical attention and follow the doctor‘s advice. Often doctors will recommend several methods for pain management often referred to as the RICE method or the no HARM protocol.

RICE – this is an acronym generally used to describe a treatment protocol for soft tissue injuries.  It stands for rest, ice, compression, and elevation. Often medical providers may suggest that you take a break from your activities to rest in order to let your injury heal. Unfortunately, this is not possible for many people in the busy lives that we lead. Doctors may also recommend that ice be placed on and off the affected area in 20 minute intervals, but avoiding direct contact of ice with the skin. Many commercial ice packs can be purchased or you can put ice in a plastic bag and wrap a towel around it to avoid direct contact of the ice with your skin.

HARM- A second method of treatment for soft tissue injuries often recommended by doctors to be used within the first 48 to 72 hours of sustaining injury.  The method is also recommended to help speed recovery. The HARM method stands for heat, alcohol, re-injury, and a massage. Doctors may recommend that a patient who sustains a soft tissue injury apply heat to the injured area within 48 to 72 hours after the injury. Applying heat to the area can cause blood to flow and the swelling to decrease. Doctors may also recommend avoiding alcohol following injury because alcohol can inhibit the ability to feel and if the injury is becoming more aggravated it could increase the swelling and cause the injury to get worse.  Following an accident, like rest, doctors will advise to avoid any activities that could re-aggravate the injury and cause further damage. Finally, massaging an injured area can promote blood flow and swelling and potentially cause more damage if done too early following the injury

Although these are some at home tips to deal with the pain following an automobile crash accident, if pain persists after the first 24 hours, the personal injury attorneys at the Law Offices Of Laura Payne-Hunt, Esq.  urge you to consult with a medical professional who can help diagnose and implement a treatment plan to speed your recovery. In addition, in the State of Nevada, you cannot make a claim for personal injuries if you did not obtain any medical care. Therefore, it is imperative that you seek medical attention to substantiate and prove the injuries that you sustained as a result of a motor vehicle collision.

Recovery time

Soft tissues can take anywhere from 2 to 8 weeks to heal depending on your general health, prior injury status, severity of the injury, and age.  In very severe soft tissue cases, a splint or even surgery can be recommended which can take an substantially longer time to heal. Often time’s anti-inflammatory medications will be prescribed to help but these are not suitable for all people.  Sometimes, injuries initially seem to present as soft tissue injuries and as time goes on and they do not heal. In those cases, additional medical intervention is needed to determine the extent of the injury including diagnostic studies like MRI or CAT scan. At the time of the collision, the pain that you are feeling may be soft tissue or may be more extensive injuries. That is why it is extremely important to consult with a medical professional following any personal injuries sustained in an auto accident.

If you have a question regarding soft tissue injuries and/or any questions regarding any personal injury, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to. Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities.  They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.

         At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I HAVE AND ACCIDENT WHILE I AM ON VACATION?

BEFORE YOU GO ON VACATION, TAKE THE FOLLOWING PHOTOS WITH YOUR PHONE:

  1. Your Family health insurance cards
  2. Lists of any family allergies
  3. Your auto insurance card

DON’T LET A CAR ACCIDENT RUIN YOUR VACATION

Vacations are best for getting away from everything stressful. You can enjoy the sun and the beach or get away the snowy slopes and fireside hot chocolate, or anything that your family enjoys.  Often on vacation, you may try new adventures like jet skiing, snorkeling, snowboarding, or any other type of vacation fun. Unfortunately, we don’t often consider that accidents can happen anywhere, even on vacation.  Armed with information and a few necessities like your family health insurance cards, your auto insurance card (whether you are driving your own car or renting a car) along with shorts and sun block, can reduce stress in the event of an accident. It’s also a good idea to have the name of an experienced and trusted local attorney in your contacts.  At the Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, we are Henderson Accident Attorneys with over 20 years of experience, 10 of those representing insurance companies.

It’s not something we want to think about when packing for a vacation.  It’s likely last thing we want to think about. However, a couple clicks of your phone and you will not have to think about it again unless it happens. It is important to know your rights and responsibilities while traveling any time, including on vacation.  One call to Henderson Accident Attorney Laura Payne Hunt can put into motion all of the steps needed to preserve your rights and claims without losing sleep on your vacation.

Summer is a great time to take a trip to more open, cooler, prettier places like the beach or the mountains, or a visit with family in old hometowns or living it up on the Las Vegas Strip. Road trips are exciting, and air travel can get us their much quicker, and renting a car can save time.

An accident is likely the last thing on your mind as you prepare for your trip, and not something you want to think about.  However, a little bit of knowledge can make a stressful situation, easier and not end a great vacation. I hope to answer the most important questions you will have if you find yourself in an accident while on vacation. Whether you are driving your own car or renting a vehicle for an out-of-town vacation, the following is a list items you will want to know to be prepared in the event of an accident:

  1. Make sure the police or on-site security is called to the scene immediately.  This will likely be your only opportunity to gather critical information.
  2. Take pictures of everything including the people themselves involved, the weather, the cars, the road, driver’s licenses, insurance cards, license plates, witness’s and their vehicles, any traffic signals or signs in place, the location of the accident, any article like a ride that caused injury, the floor in a slip and fall, all signs in the area.
  3. If anyone is injured, get medical help at a hospital or quick care and if you have your own health insurance, use it.  Provide the medical provider all of your information and make sure to obtain any records you can while you are there.
  4. Take photos immediately of any injuries sustained such as bruising and lacerations.  

TYPES OF CASES HANDLED BY HUNT LAW OFFICES

  • Swimming pool and spa drowning accidents and slip and fall accidents.
  • Injuries due to violence caused by negligent security or inadequate security.
  • Acts of crime by employees leading to injuries including sexual assaults and assault and battery.
  • Vehicle accidents involving transportation companies or rental cars.
  • Accidents on busses and/or public transportation accidents.
  • Accidents resulting from the use of personal watercraft, jet-skis, and water ski accidents.
  • Accidents involving amusement parks, theme park rides and attractions, equipment failure or maintenance accidents at theme parks.
  • Accidents involving hotel escalators and/or elevator accidents and slip and fall accidents.
  • Scuba diving and parasailing accidents resulting from faulty equipment.

Business owners, hotel owners, rental companies, and theme parks owners who cater to vacationers have a responsibility to keep their premises safe for visitors and their attractions working properly. They must provide a safe premises, and protection from dangers. Rides and rental equipment must function as intended.  Unfortunately, some vacation destinations and resorts do not pay attention to the safety measures that they are required to implement for the protection of their guests. Due to this type of negligence, an attorney is often needed to protect your rights. Laura Hunt, Esq. is dedicated to helping tourists and vacationers injured in accidents, find justice, while visiting Las Vegas and California.  To tell us about your case or concern, please email lhuntlaw@cox.net or call 702-600-0032 24 hours a day and on weekends.

ISSUES OF VACATION ACCIDENTS

Wherever your flight, drive or voyage may take you, an attorney can you help if you’re injured on your journey.  The following is important to keep in mind:

  • State Law in Different States– An attorney can Laura Hunt, Esq. can answer questions regarding laws that vary by state including traffic laws, statutes of limitations, helmet laws, floatation device laws, etc.
  • How Does Insurance work Out of State– What happens if you’re in an auto accident in a different state – or country for that matter? What state’s insurance laws do you follow? The answer is usually yes on your own policies with certain exceptions.  An experienced attorney can answer these important questions.
  • Rental Cars — With a rental, you will likely need to deal with additional paperwork. As soon as you can, you should contact the rental company and inform them of what happened. Most rental cars are equipped with a sticker in the glove box that has emergency information on it. You will usually be covered on your own auto policy and you also need to contact your own insurance company as soon as possible

WHAT ABOUT GETTING THE CAR FIXED?

To help make things easier, here is are few issues you may be faced with dealing with:

  • Your insurance may advise you to fix your car locally. An insurance company will not want to pay to have your damaged car towed to your home town. If the car is drivable, take the vehicle home for repairs.
  • The body shop may not perform quality work, so double check the work before leaving the shop. If the body shop knows you are not local, they may not give your vehicle the treatment you would receive at your local repair shop.  This is why you may want to wait for repairs until you get home. Don’t let a dent ruin a vacation.
  • You will be responsible for picking up from the shop when repairs are done. It is not likely that the insurance company will deliver your repaired vehicle back to your home town.
  • Obtain a police report. Find out from the officer where the records office is and request it as soon as you get home.  It usually takes 10-14 days for them to have the report ready anyway.
  • If repairs are necessary, find a facility with a nationwide warranty plan. If you have to have your car repaired before you can drive it home, look for a body shop that has nationwide warranty coverage. By using a body that has nationwide locations, you can avoid a problem when you get home.
  • If anyone calls you to take a recorded statement besides your own insurance company, do not provide a recorded statement to them.  Sometimes the at fault company will try to call you right away and ask slanted questions and get you to give information that you have not received yet.  They will take advantage of your stressed state.

Being in an automobile accident is never headache free and being in one while away from home and on vacation is even worse. Hopefully with this information, you will be able to avoid some of the headache that people experience and continue enjoying your getaway.  

An accident is frightening and more difficult when you are far from home. If injuries happen, it complicates your vacation and adds stress to the entire family.  If you or one of your family members is seriously injured, an attorney can take care of paper work associated with medical bills as well as all the paperwork associated a repair the vehicle.

If you or a loved one have been injured any type of accident while on vacation, an accident that was caused by the negligence of someone else, you should contact an experienced attorney about your case in addition to your insurance or rental car company.

Free Initial Legal Consultation – and We Aren’t Paid unless you collect

Hunt Law Offices has handled hundreds of auto accident, slip and fall cases, catastrophic injury cases, personal injury cases, and have recovered millions of dollars for our injured clients. Henderson Injury Accident Attorney Laura Payne Hunt’s consultation with vacation accident and resort accidents clients is free. If we take your case, we are only paid fees and costs of suit if we are successful in obtaining money for you. We advance the costs of your case, too, so there’s no cost to you of bringing your claim. To tell us about your case or concern, please email us at lhuntlaw@cox.net or call or text  702-600-0032 24 hours a day and on weekends.

Who Pays for My Rental Care When I Get in An Accident?

THREE MOST IMPORTANT THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT RENTAL CAR COVERAGE

  1. Always Purchase Rental Car Coverage on your own Policy;
  2. Make sure your coverage will cover the vehicle you need;
  3. The other driver’s insurance company may take weeks to authorize a rental car

One of the most frustrating parts of getting into an automobile accident is often being without transportation. Some clients have additional vehicles that they have access to following an accident and they are not quite as burdened. Unfortunately, many of our clients have one vehicle and when that vehicle is wrecked, it compounds the frustration, stress, anxiety, pain and suffering already involved in an auto mobile vehicle accident

When clients are involved in an accident that is not their fault, they automatically assume that they will instantaneously be placed in a rental vehicle at the expense of the at fault driver. Unfortunately, this is very far from the truth. The at fault driver‘s insurance company will investigate the accident to determine fault even if fault on the part of the other driver appears obvious at the time.  At the Law Office of Laura Payne-Hunt, Esq., we have seen this situation many times as Henderson personal injury attorneys. This process can often take a week and sometimes even up to 30 days. You do have the option to rent a vehicle at your own expense during that time to be in reimbursed when and if the other insurance company finds that their insured driver is at fault.

That is why it is of critical importance that you have rental car coverage on your own policy. Your insurance company will place you in a rental vehicle immediately following the accident regardless of who is at fault. When purchasing rental car coverage, it is important to understand the options. Sometimes they limit you to the cost per day.  I often have clients very frustrated that they are used to driving in SUV or truck and they are placed in a small economy vehicle as their rental vehicle.

When purchasing rental car coverage, there is usually an option to the cost per day or/and the total amount of rental allowed.  If you are a person who is concerned about what your temporary vehicle may be, it is important that you review this coverage at the time you purchase the coverage.  This is a coverage to be used when your car is being repaired or is deemed a total loss. It’s also important to note that your insurance company will pay for the rental until your vehicle is repaired. 

These polices will have a limit on how much will be paid per day and/or how much total it will pay per claim. The limit per claim might be a maximum dollar amount or a maximum number of days of coverage. For example on my own insurance policy, I also am a person who drives a large vehicle to accommodate my three sons. Therefore, a small compact vehicle would not work for my family. For a minimal additional cost, I raised my rental car coverage to a total of $50 per day for rental coverage.  That way, if I need a rental vehicle I can be placed in a larger car to accommodate my family.

Under most policies, you can only purchase rental reimbursement insurance if you also have collision and comprehensive coverage on your policy.  These are the two most common types of auto insurance offered for property damage to your vehicle. Although they are generally sold together, the type of damage they covers very different:

Collision Insurance provides coverage for damage to your vehicle in the event of a covered accident involving a collision with another vehicle. This includes repairs or a full replacement of your covered vehicle if your vehicle is deemed a total loss.

Comprehensive car insurance pays for damage to your vehicle that is caused by covered events such as theft, crime, or weather events like hail, which are not collision-related. 

WHY IS MY INSURANCE PAYING WHEN IT’S NOT MY FAULT

It is also often frustrating for clients that their insurance company is paying for their rental car when they are not at fault for the accident. You should not allow this to be a frustration. If it is found that you are not at fault for causing the collision, the at fault driver‘s insurance company will pay back your company for the cost of your property damage including the cost of your rental car. Purchasing rental insurance is covering you and your family for losses that may occur. It is important to realize as well that many drivers on the road do not even have insurance. The last estimate available in Las Vegas estimated that approximately 15% of all drivers on the road in Las Vegas and Henderson do not have auto insurance coverage at all. That means if you are unfortunately involved in an accident with one of those drivers your insurance company will have to cover your losses.  Please note that in those situations, most of the large insurance companies are aggressive at going after the at fault driver personally to reimburse them for the damage paid.

The most important thing to remember and to take away from this blog is to protect you and your family by purchasing insurance that will cover you in the event of an accident.  The cost of adding rental car coverage to your policy is generally $2.00 to $20.00 per month depending on your carrier and your other coverages. Considering that the average cost of a rental car is $30.00 to $45.00 per day, this coverage is well worth the small additional expense.

PROTECT YOURSELF AND YOUR FAMILY

Don’t let your self be in a position where you are stranded without a vehicle. Not being able to get into a rental car immediately following the accident causes more grief to accident victims sometimes than the injuries themselves. We live in a society where you cannot depend on the perpetrator to pay for your damages. If you do not have rental insurance on your auto policy you are at the complete mercy of the adverse driver’s insurance company or possibly lack thereof. At the Law Offices Of Laura Payne-Hunt, Esq.  we have been helping our clients review their insurance policies for over 15 years. Please do not hesitate to contact our office and we will be happy to give you a consultation regarding what coverages you currently have and likely need. A brief review of your auto insurance policy can protect you and your family from additional losses in the future at a very minimal cost. Please call the personal injury Law Offices Of Laura Payne-Hunt to review your automobile insurance policy today. This consultation is free to anyone who calls the personal injury Law Offices of Laura Payne-Hunt, Esq. and it only takes a few minutes.  These few minutes could save you a great deal of grief, headache, and distress in the event you are in an accident

If you have a question about rental car coverage and/or any questions regarding a personal injury, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to.  Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities. They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.   

         At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032.

What if I am Injured in two different accidents close together, Can I recover?

What Do I do if I am involved in 2 injury accidents close in time?

  1. Seek medical care for the second accident immediately;
  2. Explain clearly any new symptoms you are having;
  3. Document the difference in your condition after the second accident;
  4. See the same doctor so she can document your new injuries or exaserbation of your previous injuries;
  5. Be open and honest with all your doctors about both of your injury accidents.

The answer to the question, “What if I am injured in two different accidents close together, Can I recover”  is yes! It’s not an uncommon scenario. An individual is injured in an auto accident and two months later is injured in a second car accident involving different defendants.  Insurance companies for the defendants will want to point the finger at the injuries coming from the second accident. The case is now more complex due to the multiple injuries. The question becomes, how is the fact finder supposed to handle the apportionment of the injuries when there were two accidents causing the same or similar injury? It is important to contact an attorney after any injury accident. At the Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, Henderson Injury attorneys, we will make sure your rights are protected.  With nearly ten years of experience representing the insurance companies, Henderson Injury Accident attorney Laura Payne Hunt, Esq. has the experience you need to fight the insurance company. The law is well settled regarding burden of proof regarding a victim who is involved in multiple car accidents. The Nevada Supreme Court ruled on the issue of multiple injuries from multiple car accidents.

The Nevada Supreme Court addressed the issue of injuries from multiple accidents in the case of Kleitz v. Raskin, 738 P.2d 508 (1987). In the Kleitz case, appellant Kleitz was injured in an automobile accident on December 23, 1981. His treating doctor examined Kleitz and determined that he was suffering from a loss of lumbar curve due to muscle spasms.  The doctor saw Kleitz on January 25, 1982 and believed that Kleitz should be hospitalized. Hi doctor opined that Kleitz may have suffered a herniated disc from the December 23, 1981, accident.

              Unfortunately, while Kleitz was driving to the hospital on January 25th, Kleitz after his doctor’s appointment, was involved in a second automobile accident. The driver of the at fault vehicle  in the second accident was respondent, Ellen Raskin. In 1985, Kleitz brought suit against the persons involved in both the first accident and the second accident. Kleitz settled with the first accident defendants but reserved his rights against Raskin. Raskin then moved for summary judgment alleging that the second accident did not cause additional injury to Kleitz. Summary judgment is when a party asks a court to make a finding as a matter of law, rather than allowing a jury to decide the facts.  Raskin used the doctor’s testimony who stated that he had examined Kleitz before and after the second accident and found that his condition was unchanged in support of the motion for summary judgment . Kleitz moved for partial summary judgment on a legal issue asking the trial court if two unrelated at fault drivers in two separate automobile accidents produce an injury to the plaintiff which cannot be apportioned between the two impacts, are both jointly and severally liable to the plaintiff?

The trial court granted Raskin’s motion for summary judgment concluding that “Inasmuch as plaintiff cannot apportion damages as between tortfeasors, the jury would have nothing upon which to base a reasoned opinion as to damages to be awarded in the event liability was established.”  On appeal, the Nevada Supreme Court concluded that under the facts presented, the plaintiff must prove that the second accident defendant’s actions were the cause of the injury. Once this is shown by the Plaintiff, the burden of proof then shifts to the defendant to apportion damages. If the defendant fails to meet his burden, then he is jointly and severally liable for the entire amount of the plaintiff’s damages attributable to the injury.

In reaching this decision, the Nevada Supreme Court relied upon the Washington Supreme Court case of Phennah v. Whalen, 621 P. 2d 1304 (1980). In Phennah, the plaintiff was injured in two automobile accidents that took place about four months apart. Trial testimony of the doctors established that both accidents caused the plaintiff’s injury, but there was no basis for segregating or apportioning damages among the causes. The issue before the court in Phennah was whether the plaintiff was required to offer an evidentiary basis for the segregation of damages among successive defendants. The Wisconsin Supreme Court made the following ruling:

“Once a plaintiff has proved that each successive negligent defendant has caused some damage, the burden of proving allocation of those damages among themselves is upon the defendants; if the jury finds that the harm is indivisible, than the defendants are jointly and severally liable for the entire harm. Id. 1310.”

The Nevada Supreme Court expressly concurred with the findings and result in the Phennah decision and noted that a similar legal principle is also found in section 433B(2) of the Restatement of Torts, which explains that the rational for placing upon the defendant the burden of apportioning damages as follows:

“As between the proved tortfeasors who has clearly caused some harm, and the entirely innocent plaintiff, any hardship due to lack of evidence as to the extent of the harm caused, should fall upon the former.” Restatement (Second) of Torts, Section 433B Comment D (1965).

As stated in both the Restatement and the Phennah decision, the plaintiff must first establish that both the defendant’s actions were the cause of his/her injuries and then the burden shifts to the defendant to apportion damages.  The Nevada Supreme Court reversed summary judgment but stated that Raskin may renew his motion for summary judgment at which time Kleitz must demonstrate a genuine issue of material fact concerning whether the second accident contributed to his injury.

The best way to protect your claim if you are involved in two injury accidents of any kind is to be candid and honest with your attorney and your doctors about these conditions at your first consultation. Henderson Auto Accident Injury attorneys at the Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, have handled hundreds of cases involving victims of multiple car accidents. Your truthfulness about your medical conditions and injuries will allow your doctors to understand your new injuries.  It is important to be open about your past medical history. This honesty will put you in the best position possible for a maximum recovery in your case. Insurance companies and defense attorneys will have access to past accident history whether or not you are candid. It can damage your case if they find it be other means. That is why it is important to remember all of your past injuries when discussing your case with your attorney and your doctor and let your attorney and doctors know about these issues. If you are not honest in disclosing these conditions in the beginning, you are setting yourself up for many different problems including harming your credibility, ruining your entire case, and even subjecting yourself to legal action.

If you have a question about a prior accident or multiple injuries, whether from a car accident or a slip and fall or any combination of injuries, please don’t hesitate to call The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, and Henderson Injury Attorneys for over 13 years. Please call our office if you or if a loved one is injured.  We can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve and advise on how to preserve evidence. If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury offices today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to.  Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities. They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Having worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening my boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people, I reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.   

         At the Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our Henderson and Las Vegas Accident injury Henderson offices. The Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call us anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032.

What You Need to Know About Auto Insurance Coverages

FIVE MOST COMMON COVERAGES ON YOUR POLICY

  1. Liability – covers the other driver
  2. Comprehensive/ collision- covers your vehicle repairs
  3. UIM/UM – covers your medical if you are not at fault and the other driver has no or too little coverage
  4. Rental – covers your rental car immediately
  5. Medical Payments- covers your medical bills whether or not you are at fault

One of the most frequently asked questions I get  from friends and family members as an insurance attorney handling peoples injury and property claims is “what kind of insurance do I have?”  At the Henderson Auto Accident Injury offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC, we have over 20 years’ experience dealing with insurance policies and coverages.

The most common statement a client makes when they come in the offices usually is, “I have full coverage.”  However after reviewing thousands of insurance policies, it has become clear that most people don’t know what “Full coverage” is. In past years, many people used insurance agents who were helpful in explaining what types of coverages people needed.  Agents would have assisted them in purchasing their insurance. If you are able to use an insurance agent that you know and trust, I would highly recommend that. Understanding insurance coverages can be complex, and often times a large increase in coverage comes with a very small rate increase.

For that reason, it is extremely important to understand what insurance coverages for your automobile are available and what the different coverages mean in the event that you are injured or your property is damaged or you have injured someone else.   Most auto insurance policies are relatively simple to understand if you know the terminology they use. I think insurance companies intentionally use vague and ambiguous language so that people don’t know what they’re really buying. The following are the type of coverages that you will be asked if you buy insurance online or by an agent when you go to purchase insurance. Your responses and your purchases can be critical to your well-being in the event that you or someone you love is injured in an accident.

The more you know, the better buyer you can be.  The following is a brief outline of these coverages to help you understand what you are buying when you are buying insurance:

Liability Coverage (often called bodily injury coverage).  

The first coverage that you purchase, which is required by law, is called liability coverage (often called bodily injury coverage).   What that means is the amount of money that your insurance company will pay for property damage and bodily injury for the adverse driver and passengers ( a.k.a. third-parties) in the event you cause an automobile accident. In Nevada, state minimum is 15/30/10. Most people do not know what that means either. When there are three numbers, the first number is the amount your insurance company will pay per person for bodily injury and the second number is the amount your insurance company will pay per accident for bodily injury. For example if you get into an automobile collision and it is your fault and there’s one person in the other vehicle they can only obtain $15,000 from your insurance company. If there were two people in the vehicle they could obtain $15,000 each. However if they were three or more people in that vehicle, the $30,000 would be split between those people if they were injured. It is not rocket science to know that in today’s exorbitant world of medical billing, $15,000 does not go very far. The third number is the total amount your insurance company will pay for property damage to the other vehicle or property such as a damaged road sign as a result of the accident. If you purchase a minimum insurance policy you could wind up being personally exposed. Meaning, if there’s not enough insurance coverage, the other driver could sue you and obtain a judgment against your personal assets to recover their damages. For this reason, it is extremely important to insure yourself and your family as high as you can afford to in order to protect your personal assets. Meaning if you own your home, and you have savings accounts, you want to make sure that you have enough insurance. I often recommended umbrella policy to people which is usually a cost of approximately $12-$15 per month and will protect your assets.  An Umbrella policy provides a higher layer of coverage for your auto, home, boat, etc. on top of your limits, usually in the amount of a million dollars.

https://www.thezebra.com/insurance-guide/liability-insurance/

Collision Coverage

The second type of coverage which most people consider to be “full coverage” is collision coverage. Collision coverage means that payments will be made to fix your vehicle in the event that your car is damaged in an accident. If you purchase collision coverage, that coverage will cover damage to your automobile. It is extremely important to know what your deductible is. Often times, changing your deductible from $1000.00 down to $500.00 is as little as $8.00 to $10.00 on your overall premium. It is important that you check what you’re paying for and what you could get for just a little bit more. When you go to Target, you can see all the items on the shelf and you can see what all the items cost and their value so you can choose accordingly. Unfortunately, with buying insurance, they don’t make it that simple.   You have to ask these questions either of the agent or when you’re buying online you need to change the deductibles and change your coverages and see how it affects your premium.

https://www.thesimpledollar.com/insurance/auto/car-insurance-collision-coverage/

Medical Payments Coverage

A little known coverage that many agents don’t even mention or offer is called Medical Payments coverage and this can be extraordinarily important for you if you are in an accident. Medical Payments Coverage is usually a fixed amount anywhere from $1000.00, or $2,000.00, or $5,000.00 on up. It means that your insurance company will pay your medical bills regardless of whether you have health insurance if you are in an automobile accident and you’re injured. Medical payments coverage can be very important because often times you may have large co-pays, especially for ambulance bills, from an accident. Health insurance often will not cover things like physical therapy as much as you need or you may have large deductible on your health insurance policy. Medical payments coverage is generally an inexpensive coverage which will protect you from out of pocket medical expenses if you are in an accident. It’s important to know that even if it is not your fault, it can take months or years to recover from the other driver. Your medical providers, (hospitals, ambulances, quick cares, etc.) will not wait until the claim is final to send you to collections. When purchasing insurance always look at what medical payments coverage is available and the cost. If it fits your budget, you should purchase medical payments to protect yourself. Another important issue to know about medical payments is that it is not an at fault coverage, meaning if you use your medical payments coverage on your policy,  it is not counted as a claim against you for your rates.

https://www.valuepenguin.com/medical-payments-car-insurance-coverage

UM/UIM Coverage

Another extremely important coverage that people often drop to save money is called UM/UIM. This means uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Uninsured is self-explanatory, it means that if someone without insurance hits you, you have coverage for your medical bills and injuries. Underinsured coverage means that if someone with a small policy, like the state minimum of $15,000 hits you and you are seriously injured, you can recover against your own policy after the $15,000.00 is paid from the other driver. In the state of Nevada, it is estimated that 13% of all drivers on the road do not have car insurance.  It is extremely important to protect yourself and your assets from reckless and illegal drivers. In the state of Nevada, when you purchase insurance, the insurance company is required to offer you UM/UIM benefits and if you reject the same they must have you sign a waiver. Think carefully before you reject these benefits because if you are in a serious accident these benefits could protect you and your loved ones from undue financial burden. https://www.insure.com/car-insurance/uninsured.html

Rental Car Coverage

Also, there is the coverage for rental car benefits and towing. These are somewhat self-explanatory, however, there are a few tricks. When looking at your towing coverage always check the amount of miles that they will tow your vehicle. Sometimes they have separate towing packages where they’ll only tow your vehicle 5 -10 miles and then you are at the mercy of the tow truck company for the rest of the bill. It’s often pennies to change the policy to a better towing policy where they will tow you up to 100 miles.  It is similar with rental coverage. If you, like me, drive a large vehicle to take your family places and haul groceries, and you are need of a rental car from an auto accident, most policies will offer you the $20 a day, very basic economy car. This may not fit your needs, and if it does not, it can be very costly to you to rent a larger vehicle. When purchasing rental insurance you usually have the option of $20-$30 a day or $50 a day in rental coverage. Again, this is generally a very inexpensive change on the policy and when purchasing rental insurance, check to see the cost of having a better vehicle in the event that you need a rental car. Often it is less than twenty dollars. https://www.nerdwallet.com/blog/insurance/rental-car-insurance/

I hope this information was helpful and if you ever have questions when purchasing auto insurance, please do not hesitate to contact the Henderson Auto Accident and Injury  Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt, PC. The Law Offices of Laura Hunt is a boutique law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving insurance and auto accidents. Please feel free to call if you have questions when purchasing your auto insurance at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868

If you or a loved one has been in an accident, the Henderson Auto Accident and Injury Attorneys at the Law Offices of  Laura Payne Hunt, Esq. can make sure that you receive the care you need and deserve, and advise on how to preserve evidence.  If you have been in any type of accident and have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact the Henderson Auto Accident and Injury Attorneys at the Law Offices of  Laura Payne Hunt, PC today. At our office, we are experienced in helping injured victims get the compensation they are entitled to receive. Insurance companies never have the best interest of the injured person at the top of their priorities.  They want to pay as little on every claim as possible. Henderson Auto Accident Attorney Laura Payne Hunt, Esq. worked for an insurance company as an attorney for 9 years before opening her boutique law firm specializing in helping injured people.  During her time working for an insurance company, Henderson Auto Accident Attorney Laura Payne Hunt, Esq. reviewed thousands of auto accident claims and policy provisions.

         At the Henderson Auto Accident and Injury Law Offices of  Laura Payne Hunt, PC we are here to help you and your family in the event that accidents and tragedies occur.  For any of your legal needs, do not hesitate to contact our offices. The Henderson Auto Accident and Injury Law Offices of Laura Payne Hunt is a boutique, family owned law firm in Henderson that specializes in helping injured people and the community with legal issues involving auto accidents, wrongful deaths, slip and falls, truck accidents, injuries to children, bicycle accidents, dog bites, and all types of injury claims.  Please do not hesitate to call Henderson Auto Accident Attorney Laura Payne Hunt, Esq. anytime you have a legal question or you or a loved one has sustained an injury at 702-450-(HUNT) 4868 and text 24/7 at 702-600-0032.